The Jack's Small Engines Forum - Join Our Online Community
Reply to post

Hot!FC420V sometimes doesn't start - weak spark?

Author
jrheling
  • Total Posts : 3
  • Scores: 0
  • Reward points: 0
2016/08/20 11:41:41 (permalink)

FC420V sometimes doesn't start - weak spark?

Hi -

I am looking for troubleshooting guidance for a walk-behind brush cutter (~15 year old DR) with a Kawasaki FC420V AS-22 engine[1]. I'm not experienced with small engine repair or diagnostics, but I'm trying to learn. So I've probably checked some things that don't need checking, and could well be missing something.

Symptoms:
  • The engine has, for a few months, failed to start reliably. Oftentimes it would start right up, but once in a while it would crank and fail to turn over. Seemed random, but would start quickly 4 out of 5 tries.
  • Sometimes this changes for a period of time (days to weeks), in which it consistently won't start.
With a spark plug tester hooked up during the times that it won't start, I see only a weak spark. Orange; not a hint of blue. I suspect, but do not know for sure, that a weak spark is why it's not starting. When it _does_ start, there's still no blue in the tester - just a stronger orange.

Things I'm pretty sure of:
  • The battery is good. The battery is about 18 months old. I initially thought this might be a battery problem, so took it in to the battery store who tested it and found strong CCA and voltage.
  • Fuel delivery. I can see fuel moving through the filter when I try to start it, and the inside of the carb had fuel when I took it apart to check.
  • It's not the kill switch. I've detached the kill switch from the ignition coil and see the same symptoms.